Zero Waste

10 Easy Zero-Waste Alternatives for Malaysians

It feels weird to say it, but towards the end of 2017, I had an epiphany. For the last 5 months or so in 2017, I had the opportunity to watch the sunrise (almost) every Monday to Friday. Watching the different shades of the sky early in the morning when almost the whole world is still asleep, it felt like a privilege. I’d take a picture almost every morning of the sunrise sight, and just feel so… I don’t have another word to describe it, nor am I a religious person, but I felt infinitely blessed.

Blessed to be able to witness such a sight, that others miss while they’re asleep. Blessed to know of nature’s wonders, her little secrets between her, me, and the universe.

But it also made me feel sorrowful, and a bit selfish. Was I doing my part for the environment? To conserve our Earth? I thought of it this way: Driving = Gas emission = Air pollution = I wouldn’t be able to see the sunrise. This is just the gist of things, but it made me sad to think that I was playing a part in destroying my precious sunrise sights.

pexels-photo-146080
Potentially no more pandas?! Say it isn’t so!

Of course, the 3Rs have been hardened into each and every Malaysian since we could talk. “Reduce, Reuse, Recycle” But there must be more than that that we can do to save the environment, can’t we? After a few months of awakening, pondering, guilt, elation, and quite some money spent, here are some of my personal favourites and future goals to do my part in keeping our environment and skies waste-free.

10 Small Ways To Practice Zero-Waste In Malaysia

pexels-photo-109275

1. Use glass or stainless straw alternatives

Straws can be found almost anywhere, especially accompanied with cold beverages and take-out drinks. I remember watching this video of a straw being agonizsngly pulled out from a turtle’s nostril and well… I felt very disturbed. Sipping from straws can be classy, but drinking from the glass rim shows that you’re a boss who can’t be messed with!

If you do need to use a straw, I prefer glass straws or stainless steel straws instead of wheat straws provided by stores, because at least glass and stainless steel alternatives can be reused. Wheat straws, not so much especially once they turn mushy (but then again, they’re supposed to be biodegradable).

Stainless steel straws are heavier than glass, but glass straws are easier to clean as you can see the dirt in them. Ultimately, it boils down to a matter of preference based on your lifestyle.

drinks-supermarket-cans-beverage

2. Opt for canned/bottled drinks instead of packet ones

The whole aluminum can/glass bottle can be recycled, whereas only the body of the packet drinks are recyclable, not including the straws (for obvious reasons). Unless the straw is made of bio-degradable material, paper, or bamboo, canned/bottled drinks remain a greener alternative if you choose to consume a drink outside.

Better yet, bring your own bottle of water and stay away from the evils of sugar!

pexels-photo-90893

3. #BYOLBOX

Bring Your Own Lunchbox, or #BYOLBOX for short. Bringing your own lunchbox (really, I mean a box) helps to reduce the number of food boxes used that also helps to save the environment! I personally feel that it helps me to maintain my food intake as well, as filling up a smaller box = taking in less food.

To pack food, I try my best to opt for a glass lunchbox that is non-toxic, BPA-free, leak-proof, microwave-safe, freezer-safe, and fridge-safe. Glass containers are also a greater option when it comes to packing foods that may stain, like curry, kimchi, sambal, etc. These containers also come in handy when it comes to packing leftovers in the freezer and warming them up in the microwave later on. 🙂

pexels-photo-675439

4. Cones instead of cups

Some ice-cream shops charge extra for cones, while some do not. When you opt for a cone, you don’t waste any paper cups or plastic spoons (lol I don’t understand shops who put a spoon into your cone).

If you really do want to have a cup instead of cone, bring along your own little container and a stainless steel spork that you can wash before you leave. I once gave my Thermos to the staff at Fat Baby to pack my ice-cream and they so happily obliged. They are my favourite ice-cream shop, the best. ❤

doctor-room-interior-business-79858

5. Half & half tissues

I think this is what triggered me to start going greener than ever. The tissues restaurants provided would always be extremely big (for me) to wipe my mouth. I’d only use one side or just 1/4 of it!

What I do is tear the tissue into half for me to use, then keep the other half in my bag for another day. You never know when you’ll have a bursting bladder in a public restroom and no toilet paper (true story).

shower-shower-head-water-drop-of-water-161502

6. Take cold showers

I’m definitely #teamcoldshower as much as I can, because I find that cold showers help me sweat less and it’s better for my skin too. It definitely helps that we live in a hot, sticky country which gives us better initiative to bathe in cold water.

pexels-photo-906158

7. Sharing is caring, even more for food

I’m a small eater, so there are times where I can’t finish all the food on my plate. Sharing lets everyone at the table have a taste for each dish, and we’re more likely to finish our meal that way! I also take delight in kids’ meals that are actually pleasing and just-right for me, so hooray 🙂

It’s important to know yourself too, like what are your eating limits and what food fills you up the most (carbs, cheese, processed foods). Nevertheless, the safest way to practice adequate food consumption would be to order one dish first, then top-up if you’re still feeling hungry after that.

#PandaPip: I would often feel bloated and uncomfortable after eating meals, so I started taking probiotics and an enzyme supplement, and my digestion has really improved, it’s almost magical. THAT MEANS I CAN EAT MORE NOW, YAY.

RubyCup_Pink_Horizontal_M-e1472479201880
Image credits: Rubycup.com

8. Switch to a other menstrual alternatives

There are several zero-waste menstrual alternatives I’ve tried, so let’s go into it.

Reusable Cloth Pad: I started off with two types of cloth pads: 1) A cotton gauze cloth pad, and 2) A mink-material type cloth pad. While it was a good start, it was a TEDIOUS one because there’s a lot of washing involved, especially if you only have a few pads at your disposal. Imagine being in so much pain or feeling so tired and you have to wash them thoroughly, and if they don’t dry overnight you have nothing to wear…

Menstrual Cup: Definitely a learning curve. It feels uncomfortable the first few times, but after a few months of use, you’ll be a seasoned pro. Don’t worry if you can’t ‘feel it when it’s in’, because you’re not supposed to! If you do feel something, that means your cup isn’t sitting properly in your cervix.

In Malaysia, you can purchase menstrual cups from reliable sellers like Blood, The Hive, and OrganiCup. Zero-waste shops will also stock certain brands, so feel free to check and see which suits you best! To sanitise my cup before and after periods, I use these sterilising tablets and cup by Breeze which is simply *chef’s kiss*. No more having to boil water on the stove in the middle of the night LOL.

Menstrual Panty: I bought a pack of Summer & Peach Menstrual Panties, which I combine with my menstrual cup. I know – it seems a bit of an overkill – but I truly do not want to leak AT ALL.

#PandaPip: If you’re considering purchasing a menstrual products, please research reliable sources to buy from and not just settle for what’s cheapest. It’s your reproductive system it’s going in, after all, and we wouldn’t want to compromise that.

#PandaPip: Freedom Cups are a great initiative where you buy a menstrual cup and they give one to other women in need, especially in underprivileged communities with limited access and education to sanitary needs. I really admire their work and dedication. If you’re thinking of purchasing a menstrual cup, you can support their cause and help out a fellow woman in need!

pexels-photo-907865

9. #BYOBTL

Bring your own bottle everywhere you go! My favourite everyday bottle is a BPA-free BROS bottle that I’ve been using for almost a decade. It measures 1L, and refilling it twice a day helps me accomplish my daily water intake.

I do the same for bubble tea and other non-water cool beverages too, and yes, I bring my own bottle. This is why I have another smaller BPA-free bottle that’s also from BROS. So I can drink water AND boba at the same time. You’re welcome for the hack. 😀

Some shopping malls, public places, and Muji or The Body Shop outlets in Malaysia offer refillable water stations too, so it’s a good way to refill and refuel. 😉

pexels-photo-773252

10. Soap bars or refillable bottles

Bar soaps, especially artisanal ones, use considerably less plastic in packaging, and some have the added benefit of being very tame for sensitive skin and made of organic ingredients. I combine it with a loofah to exfoliate my skin and scrub away my sins (haha).

My hair texture is non-generic, so I’ve only been using The Olive Tree’s refillable hair shampoo range. There are different variants for different hair types, including conditioner! If you’re blessed with healthy hair that’s not dry/damaged, you can try shampoo bars like Claire Organics’ Camellia Hair Shampoo Bar or this Lave Republic Shampoo Bar.

For refillable body shampoo, I use any from zero-waste stores.

Are you keen on green yet?

pexels-photo-255441

Some of the steps may seem slightly difficult to carry out, but give yourself time and you will accomplish them eventually 🙂 I’m still learning myself, on how to do my part to conserve our environment, but baby steps and we’ll get there together! There’s an old Malay saying, “Sikit-sikit, lama-lama menjadi bukit.” which translates into “Little things will eventually accumulate into a hill.” If we all do our part together, I’m sure we’ll make a change 🙂

2 thoughts on “10 Easy Zero-Waste Alternatives for Malaysians

Leave a comment